Tennessee Law Recognizes Various Types of Alimony

On Behalf of Law Offices of Thomas Maynard Nov. 25, 2020

Alimony, also known as spousal support, can be a contentious issue in a divorce. Both the spouse paying alimony and the spouse receiving alimony want the amount paid to be fair, even if they disagree on what this amount should be. It is good for both sides to understand Tennessee law on alimony, so they can better negotiate a fair settlement or understand a judge’s decision should they be unable to reach a resolution on their own.

There are four types of alimony that can be awarded in Tennessee.

Rehabilitative Alimony

These payments are meant to help a spouse who stayed out of the workforce while married or otherwise needs to obtain an education or training to be employable and enjoy a standard of living similar to that enjoyed during the course of the marriage.

Alimony in Futuro (Periodic Alimony)

These payments are spaced out over a long period of time. They are meant to provide the receiving spouse with the ability to meet a certain standard of living, especially if the receiving spouse cannot obtain the training or education needed to find an appropriate job. Sometimes this type of alimony is awarded in addition to rehabilitative alimony.

Transitional Alimony

These payments are temporary and are paid to a spouse who may not need rehabilitation but just needs some time to adjust to their post-divorce life, financially.

Alimony in Solido (Lump Sum Alimony)

This type of alimony is meant to support the receiving spouse over the long term. The entire amount of alimony will be calculated and then dispersed in installments over a certain amount of time.

Tennessee recognizes various types of alimony, as no two couple’s financial situation is the same. What works for one couple post-divorce may not work for another. These various options allow for different dynamics, ensuring a fair result is reached.