On Behalf of Law Offices of Thomas Maynard
Important Numbers to Know Regarding DUI Charges
A drunk driving charge can be detrimental to a Tennessee resident’s career, reputation, and home life. That is why many individuals facing these serious criminal matters choose to approach their charges with the help of knowledgeable DUI and criminal defense attorneys. Only one’s own attorney can advise them on the important aspects of their case, and readers should not interpret this post as legal guidance or help.
Drunk driving charges like DUI are often factually driven, and one fact that prosecutors may focus on is the alleged level of intoxication that a driver reached when they were stopped by law enforcement officials. Often suspected drunk drivers are subjected to breathalyzer tests, which use breath inputs to computer blood alcohol concentration outputs on drivers. In Tennessee, certain blood alcohol concentration (BAC) thresholds.
- A BAC of .02% is enough for a DUI arrest of an underage individual.
- A BAC of .08% is enough for a per se DUI arrest of a person at or above 21 years of age.
- A BAC of .20% is enough for an enhanced penalty or aggravated DUI charge.
Individuals should be aware of how an alleged BAC reading may impact their case, but they should also know that breathalyzer testing is not a perfect science. There are many ways that testing can be flawed and options for defense strategies that may fit into individual cases.
What You May Do
Once a person is charged with an alleged DUI crime, the prospective sanctions that they may face for conviction can vary depending upon if they have been charged with similar crimes in the past. Generally, the more DUI convictions that a person has in their criminal history, the more serious the penalties that they can face for subsequent charges. For example, the length of time that a person may have their license suspended or revoked can change depending on their prior DUI convictions.
- When a person is arrested and convicted of their first DUI charge, they may lose their license for up to 1 year.
- When a person is arrested and convicted a second time for a DUI charge, they may lose their license for up to 2 years.
- After 2 DUI convictions, individuals can face drivers’ license suspensions or revocations of up to a decade depending upon the circumstances of their individual cases.
As readers can see, DUI charges can have significant and serious results if convictions are secured against them. People facing DUI charges do not have to confront their legal problems alone. They can ask for help from attorneys with criminal and DUI defense experience to help them work through the challenges of their pending charges.