Facing DUI Charges Can Be a Harrowing Experience
Sept. 25, 2019
Young people in Tennessee are often in a hurry to grow up. This is particularly true of those leaving their teen years and entering their 20s. The legal drinking age is 21 but some find it difficult to resist the temptation when at a party or out with friends. A person may not be aware of the impact alcohol can have on one’s ability to safely operate a motor vehicle and a DUI arrest can be the result.
A young woman, 20 years old, was out with friends on a recent evening and reportedly had a false ID that allowed her to purchase alcohol earlier in the evening. She was apparently driving home when she ran off the road and struck a pole. Someone reported seeing her get into another car and ride away. That car was said to have been driven by a member of her family.
Alerted of the accident, the police found the car that had reportedly picked up the 20-year-old from the crash scene. The young woman was apprehended and faces charges of DUI, possessing a false ID, underage drinking, leaving the scene of an accident and failing to report a crash. In addition, she is charged with failing to abide by Tennessee’s implied consent law that obliges anyone suspected of driving under the influence to consent to a blood alcohol test.
Facing a DUI charge in Tennessee can be unnerving for anyone. It can be particularly harrowing for a young person. Being involved in an accident that results in property damage can only enhance that fear. A person in such a situation may wish to consult with a criminal defense attorney who can review the facts of the situation and inform the client of all of the legal options that may be available.